Breaking Silence

It’s been since 2012 that I’ve done any sort of writing. Back when I attended Dixie State University, I was a news editor for the college paper, the Dixie Sun. I ran a regular column, Leaning Left, and for a brief time I also co-hosted a radio show, News From Earth, with my (now deceased) friend Michael Flynn.

About a year after I graduated college, I enlisted with the Air National Guard as an intelligence analyst. I stopped writing, mostly out of a sense of professionalism, respecting a time-honored tradition of intelligence analysts maintaining a firm position of neutrality with regards to politics.

Then, this morning, a man was killed when a sympathizer of the alt-right rammed his vehicle into counter-protesters in Charlottesville, VA, killing one and injuring 19.

My time of self-imposed silence is coming to an end. I’m not sure yet what that means. It might be a podcast, a column, or something else entirely. But, I can tell you I’m brushing the dust off my keyboard. So, this post is equal parts announcement, and request for feedback.

I’m lucky to have some of you as former listeners to my show, or readers of my column. It’s been a long time, but I’m hoping some of you are willing to tell me how I can best serve you with my research and writing skills. I know I plan to do some short biographies, as well as researched summaries and narratives, describing how we’ve gotten into the mess we’re in today.

All I can say right now, is that today feels difference. Something needs to change. And I have to break my silence.

One thought on “Breaking Silence

  1. Richard Davis

    I am proud to know you. We need to speak to the lack of civility in our country. The lack of compromise in our politics. The blinders we have all have been wearing.

Leave a Reply

